Strength in the Storm

A foundation provides supports for something. It can even be compared to an anchor, or a root system. In light of that, these support systems should be sturdy, strong and deeply rooted. In life we must have something sturdy that is our support. The Lord provides us guidance in this area all throughout the scriptures. In fact, Jesus tells us that as we hear God’s Word and follow, we have a solid foundation sustainable against the storm.

Therefore everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them, may be compared to a wise man who built his house on the rock.  And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock. Everyone who hears these words of Mine and does not act on them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand. The rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and it fell—and great was its fall.  Matthew 7:24-27 (NASB)

It is also very clear in the above verses that even though we hear, if we do not do, we are not protected, so to speak.

But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves.  James 1:22 (NASB)

My interpretation at this point is that as we lean on the Word of God, the Lord protects us. He will give us strength, physically and spiritually. The key is to live for Him. We live for Him by following what He tells us. The beginning to this is reading the Bible and prayer. As we read and pray, we come to know our Father. Then the natural progression is to become more like our Heavenly Father who created us in His image, understanding who we are as His sons and daughters and ultimately claiming the power and authority He has given us against the storm!

There are many different people in the Bible who dealt with storms in their life and as they called on the Lord, He protected them…

And David spoke the words of this song to the Lord in the day that the Lord delivered him from the hand of all his enemies and from the hand of Saul.  He said,

“The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;
My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge,
My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge;
My savior, You save me from violence.
“I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised,
And I am saved from my enemies.  

2 Samuel 22:1-4 (NASB)

“But you, Israel, My servant,
Jacob whom I have chosen,
Descendant of Abraham My friend,
You whom I have taken from the ends of the earth,
And called from its remotest parts
And said to you, ‘You are My servant,
I have chosen you and not rejected you.
‘Do not fear, for I am with you;
Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’  

Isaiah 41:8-10 (NASB)

These are just two examples of God’s protection for people God the Father loved and people who not only called on Him, but who also followed Him. I, for one cannot think of anyone I would rather have as my protector. Why, then, do we still insist on doing it on our own? We struggle, we fall, we beat ourselves up in the process and often we end up coming to God after all, but torn and tattered… why? Are we so quick to believe the lies of the enemy that God doesn’t love us and that we are too messed up to mean anything to Him? But, see, that’s where knowing God comes in. As we learn who He is we learn how much He does love us, no He ADORES us… He rejoices over us… He wants to have a relationship with us and help us through those storms.

Be energetic in your life of salvation, reverent and sensitive before God. That energy is God’s energy, an energy deep within you, God himself willing and working at what will give Him the most pleasure.  Phillipians 2:13 (MSG)

Jesus will stand with you in the storm, but it will either be out-of-the-way waiting for you to call on Him, or beside you walking with you through it. It’s your choice. God will not force you to choose Him, but knowing that you can should be enough. Get to know your Father and let Him help you build your house on solid ground. Build on the solid ground of His Word, His Promises and His Truths, then wait and see how much easier the storms will pass and with much less damage!

“When trouble comes, focus on God’s ability to take care of you.”  Charles Stanley

Bible verses taken from the New American Standard Bible (NASB) and The Message Bible (MSG)

Charles Stanley quote from http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_god.html

Leave a Reply

