Saying Sorry…

sorry

I don’t even know how to begin this except by jumping in. Saying sorry is probably one of the hardest things that we have to do and probably one of the things we will do most often in our life. AGREE?? 

Now think about forgiving the person once they say I am sorry. How do you respond? Do you easily say,

Sure, of course I forgive you! 

Or is this more likely your response…

Are you kidding.. do you know how bad you hurt me? How could I possibly forgive you?

I bet it would be a close battle on which answer we chose as our response. Of course, I am sure it would also depend on the situation and the level of hurt it produced. You know what though? We should forgive, no matter what. Why? Because we are told to by Jesus Himself…

“And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him, that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses.”  Mark 11:25

Even though we are hurt, we should still forgive someone, especially when they ask for forgiveness. It is clear that the Father will not forgive us for our transgressions against others and Him if we don’t forgive others. And me for one, I don’t want to chance the Father not forgiving me. I want His forgiveness and His love all over me!

Make love not war is something I am sure all of us have heard at some point in our lives. And, honestly, it is something that I think all of us should strive to live for. Wouldn’t the world be a better place of we all loved instead of fighting? Not only that, isn’t loving so much easier than fighting?

Sometimes our inability to forgive others comes from the fact that we cannot forgive ourselves. Again, the same fact stands true that before God can forgive us, we must forgive others. That includes ourselves…

SAY I’M SORRY… FORGIVE…LET GO… MOVE FORWARD…

sorry_forgive

The best way to be free, be free in the Spirit, is to let go of all things that weigh you down. The things of unforgiveness are really heavy and hard to carry. If we let Jesus take them from us, we no longer have to be burdened. We will be free, truly free!!!!

So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. And because you belong to him, the power of the life-giving Spirit has freed you from the power of sin that leads to death.  Romans 8:1-2 (NLT)

Say you are sorry now, for anything that is before you. In that moment, think of those who you need to forgive and relay that too. Be sorry and forgive… once you do that, FREEDOM will ensue and you will be filled with the Holy Spirit. To me, that one of the most amazing things ever!

forgiveness_freedom

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

