2 Samuel 23:4

2 samuel

Time for my weekly, “Hey God, what does this mean to me?” with a verse from the book of second Samuel.

And he shall be like the light of the morning when the sun rises, a morning without clouds like the tender grass springing out of the earth, by clear shining after the rain. 2 Samuel 23:4 (NKJV)

This verse spoke to me on many different levels. Initially, I looked at it as a picture of purity and a newness. The clear blue sky and the rain on the grass are untouched, a picture of God’s beauty. The Father as he washes us clean fro m our sins, our beauty emerges. Often, this beauty has to be dug out of many layers of dirt in order to truly shine.

As we seek the Lord, He will make our way possible. He will bless our way.

When I think of the sun rising in the morning, I think of great joy. To me, a sunrise and the first, morning’s light, is representative of hope, a new beginning. Nature and it’s beauty is amazing, if we take it and enjoy time to look at and enjoy it.

God continually gives us indicators all around us of His presence. He is always with us. He never leaves us. He never forsakes us.

Now there may be other ways to look at this verse and I am sure I might even look at it differently at another season in my life. Currently though, I see this as a hope for new life and even new direction in my life where God is leading me in a totally new way.

Take a moment to look around at the beauty in the morning, and after the rain on the grass… see the newness and purity and have hope in what the Father is going to do next!

god-has-plans-jeremiah-29-11

Leave a Reply

