45 Years

life

As I celebrate my 45th birthday, I am pensive.

Birthdays for me have always kind of been just another day. Now don’t get me wrong, I love gifts and I love cake and I love hanging out with family and friends. But, I am not someone who likes attention or being the center of attention… I get very nervous by all of that. And that is what birthdays are all about.

Celebrating the life of someone on the day they were born is an important event. Each of us has our own special day when God decided to send us to this earth. In effect, that day, our birthday,  it is an important day. Often, your birthday is even more important to the people in your life. The people who love you are grateful for that day. Simply because the day when you were born made it possible for you to be in their life. And, most of them would be lost without you. Truth? Yes, complete truth.

Now, I have lived 45 years and experienced many birthdays of my own and others. In looking back in my pensive mood this morning, I am hopeful in this year.

I have made mistakes, fallen and gotten back up many times throughout my 45 years, mostly in the last 20. All in all, I have kept moving forward. Moreover, I have grown from each trial, mistake and failure. And, I continue to keep pushing forward. After all, isn’t that what a birthday is all about? We celebrate another year old, while beginning a new year fresh.

We receive daily blessings. God is always there taking care of us from the time we are born. The one thing I have learned is that each year is a gift from our Father and a new beginning. We should strive to make each year better than the one before it. Not only in happy times and new experiences, but also in growth within, spiritually, emotionally and mentally. Become the best you, become who God knows you already are… take a risk and anticipate awesome things!!! This year is going to be my best year yet!!!

life 2

 

Leave a Reply

