What’s in a Song?


The music is important…

Yes it is. For many of us, it is at the center of who we are. Every feeling is expressed through a song, whether is be the lyrics or the music. 

More importantly though, the music is important because of where it leads us. 

Think about it… who created these beautiful sounds and the words that flow? The great musician himself… GOD.

So, ultimately, music should lead you into a place of communion with God. In a song, we should be hanging out with Jesus, praising Him, thanking Him… loving Him, as He loves us.

What’s in a song then? 

For me, I find many things in a song… peace, love, belonging, joy, energy, thankfulness, awe and praise. All of these point to a Heavenly Father and His nature… all of these are characteristics of Him. 

Over the years there were many times where music brought me through. In sadness and despair, somehow a song gave me strength to fight. And in happiness, a song only ignited my soul more. I honestly can say now as I look back, God was there in my songs. It was how He spoke to me in those seasons, especially the really dark ones. His hope was disguised in my favorite, “angry” or “sad” songs. Because of that, I made it through again and again. 

Now I have more “happy” songs, because I have come through so much and into a freedom where I can now breathe and finally live.  But, no matter what song I listen to, because my God is always with me, I know He is in the music. 

So, what’s in a song?

In my song, I find my Lord.  Together we sometimes cry, and sometimes, a lot of the time, we sing and dance together… that’s what’s in my song. What’s in yours? 

“Music is an agreeable harmony for the honor of God and the permissible delights of the soul.” ― Johann Sebastian Bach

Leave a Reply

