On the Road Again… Prologue

I recently had the opportunity to ride with a long distance truck driver for over 3 weeks. I lived the life with this truck driver. My husband is this truck driver. I felt like after this experience, I wanted and needed to write about this life, the life of a long distance truck driver.

As I begin the story about this journey, I want to give a shout out to my husband. Roy is his name, if you don’t know him. He is a professional truck driver and drives what some would call a “big truck”, some call it an “18-wheeler”, some call it a “tractor trailer”. For him, it is home… as he affectionately calls it, his “apaarrtmant” and his “office” too, because it is where he works from and where he lives too. This is an industry he knows well, as he has been doing it since he was a “kid” as he says, which means his early twenties. So, off and on throughout the last 40 years, he has been a professional driver.

In sharing about my time with my husband, I hope to enlighten everyone as to what a professional driver does on a day to day basis. They work hard, in a way that is physically and mentally tiring. Not only do I want to honor my husband for all he does to support our family in his job, but I want to somewhat educate the general public on this profession and these guys and gals who drive the roads.

This is the prologue to a series which I will be writing over the next few weeks. I hope it will open your eyes to the “big trucks” that surround us on the roads. I hope it will give you a new understanding of sharing the road with them. I also hope you will see what an honorably and necessary profession is it and give honor where it is due to these who are constantly “on the road again” as Willie Nelson would say.

Leave a Reply

