On the Road Again… The First Step


My husband has asked me often to ride with him in his truck. I didn’t want to do it because I was honestly afraid of riding in the truck. I also thought, or better yet, I didn’t really know what to think. I mean I had never ridden in a truck like that and didn’t know that I really wanted to. I missed my husband though, terribly. And since we had moved to California he was still working for the same company and we had only seen each other 6 times in a 9 month period. He really didn’t want to take vacation yet, but rather save it for Christmas. My dilemma began. Ultimately I decided I had to go with him, otherwise I might not see him again for 6 months! It was more than I could bear, so I planned my trip back east. 

The company Roy works for allows for spouses to ride, but it has to be approved, so this process what set in motion. Liability and insurance are most likely the reason behind this. After all, if something happens while the spouse is in the truck owned and operated by the company, it would be a mess! Me joining my husband was approved. I was excited to see him, but secretly I was also alittle fearful of what was to come. I do know though, that God’s hand was in all of it even from the beginning. How? When I said I was a little fearful, it wasn’t the insurmountable fear that I would have felt even months prior. It was more of a tiny fear of the unknown and then a gigantic excitement. I was going to get to spend time with my husband AND get to see him work. I have never had an opportunity to see him “in his element” like this… excitement was beginning to build inside of me. 

I began to make the necessary arrangements and then a week before I was set to leave, Roy calls to see if I can change my plans slightly. Let me explain just a bit. My dad and stepmom still live in NC, where we lived for about 11 years, and my daughter and her husband were also in NC for the summer staying with his mom. I had planned on going to NC first to my Dad’s to spend time with him and my daughter and a handful of friends while Roy made his way to me within a few days from wherever he was at that point. Instead of our original plan, Roy got offered a run to Brooklyn for an event with permission to bring me. The kicker was that I would have to be in Nashville a day earlier and go to NC after we returned. In the next few hours I made the changes to my flight and other plans and was slated to fly into Nashville the following Thursday. 

Here is where I need to offer up some insight as to what my husband’s job actually entails. For the majority of professional truck drivers, they run what’s called over the road loads which are part of the truckload division. This means that they pick up a load from point A and deliver it to point B. These are generally 200-500 miles apart. My husband normally runs 2500-3000 miles per week in order to make a pleasing paycheck. The drivers are paid a certain amount, approximately 40-50 cents per mile they drive. Consequently, the miles are key. There is another division called On Tour Logistics, OTL, where the team will be on an event and will follow that around during its duration transporting sound, lighting and stage equipment. With this division, the drivers are paid by the day, because even if they are not driving, they are still required to be at the venue with their trucks. The events can be anything from a concert tour to a convention. The particular event we were on was for the NBA draft. The coolest part and totally a blessing from God, was that once we got to Brooklyn and unloaded, we were actually going to be staying in a hotel room for 3 nights! My truck-driving experience was going to be a teaser at first so I could acclimate slowly into the lifestyle.

In retrospect now, as I mentioned in the beginning, the favor from the Father was so evident from start to finish during these weeks. I was able to experience, but at a pace that would not be too overwhelming for me or too stressful for my husband. It was amazing, absolutely amazing. The weeks that followed were eye-opening to me on so many levels. As I am writing this today, I almost miss it. Of course I miss my husband, but I also miss riding with him… it was truly an adventure.

Now, since this has gone longer than I planned, I am going to end here. I will continue with the actually first moments on the truck… HAHA! Again, I am so glad the Lord was there easing the transition for both Roy and I. In the beginning, I wasn’t sure I had made the right decision, but it was SO good to be back with my husband! I was going to tough it out and make it work. After all, this is what he did day in and day out to take care of me, I could surely handle it for a few days… hopefully…

Never give up, that is just the place and the time the tide will turn.  ~Harriet Beecher Stowe

2 thoughts on “On the Road Again… The First Step

  1. I’m glad I found you blog. I used to drive OTR as a team with my partner, and my biggest regret was that I didn’t stay on as a ‘wife’. I never got comfortable driving, and quit when I had a small accident. But I loved going places. The company was located out west, but carried refrigerated loads from coast to coast. The travel was beautiful. Looking forward to seeing how this adventure turns our for you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

