A Journey that is Only Beginning…


I have been traveling for the last month and a half. I left home on June 15, and today, August 1, I am on my way back. It has been amazing, challenging, fulfilling, healing and eye opening. I have loved it. I am ready to be home, to sleep in my own bed, to be my own space, to drive my car, and to not have to live out of a suitcase anymore. But, when I look at all this last month and a half has given me, those are small in comparison. 

My original plan was 3 weeks. It was doubled. That might not seem like a big deal, and honestly to me now in my life, I didn’t hesitate. It was so freeing to be able to have the opportunity and to grab hold of it. Not my usual reaction, but definitely the new courageous me. 

Traveling and being away from home might not be something that most would think of as needing courage for. For me, it became a summer of victory after victory AND blessing after blessing. God was with me in such an overwhelming and comforting way during this time. 

Any of you who have known me or have followed my process during this last year understand that there is something different. After all, my typical behavior and preference would have been… well, I would rather just stay home. Not anymore people! In fact, even though I am ready to be home, for merely selfish reasons, I am already thinking about the next time I can get on a plane and fly somewhere! 

There is revelation in this for me. The Lord has shown me three major things this summer…

Relationships are key in life. And when you pray for restoration and opportunities to reconnect, our Father, who is a Lord of relationships, will provide just such opportunities. I had time with my dad and stepmom, time with both my brothers and their families, time with my husband and time with friends… all because I trusted and stepped out into this unknown area. Relationships have been restored and strengthened and covered in love!

Fear only has control when I give it control. As I walk in the confidence of my identity in Christ, I cannot be afraid… it isn’t even possible! So I trusted God and who He says I am and time after time fear wasn’t even present in my atmosphere! There were even times when I would have been afraid in the past and I looked back and thought, wow I did that and I wasn’t even afraid! It was such an amazing feeling. I have a strength like I have never carried that is part of me now, like I can’t even shake it… and I am so ok with that!

My destiny lies in going lots of different places. I will be traveling more and more in the future. This summer has been a precursor to what is ahead for me. I love how God will give us peeks and teasors while not showing us the whole picture. In trusting Him though, I am at complete peace with anything He has planned for me. I do hope that it will be lots of traveling, because I have come to love it!

As my travels come to an end, I will begin to process all of my experiences allowing myself to see all the Lord has done in, through and around me during my travels. I know I made a difference everywhere I went and it made a difference in me. Each experience should change us and the people we interact with, otherwise are we truly walking in the fullness of God? I am not the same person I was when I left early on the morning of June 15. How does that make me feel? Excited. Each change brings me into a deeper relationship with Father God. From glory to glory…

While writing this, I am in a plane thousands of miles up in the clouds on my way to San Francisco in a seat that I was upgraded to right before we boarded! I feel the favor of God all around me. He is so good to His children, constantly blessing us! I am in awe of all He shows us and allows us to be part of. There is so much more for me, now that I am free to see! I wonder with anticipation and a giddy heart what is next… and I am ready for the next leg of my journey.

“Not I, nor anyone else can travel that road for you. You must travel it by yourself. It is not far. It is within reach.

Perhaps you have been on it since you were born, and did not know. Perhaps it is everywhere – on water and land.” 

― Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass

One thought on “A Journey that is Only Beginning…

Leave a Reply

